United States Senate WASHINGTON, DC 20510

May 6, 2019

The Honorable Richard Shelby Chairman U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations U.S. Capitol, S-128 Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Patrick Leahy Vice Chairman U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations U.S. Capitol, S-146A Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Shelby and Vice Chairman Leahy:

Thank you for your ongoing work on FY 2020 appropriations bills. We are grateful that the FY 2019 omnibus spending bill was largely free of unrelated policy riders that would have had deleterious consequences for public health and the environment. As you know, the inclusion of such unrelated policy riders has undermined the Senate's ability over the years to pass appropriations bills. To help maintain regular order and to ensure bipartisan support, we urge you to keep the FY 2020 appropriations bills free of controversial anti-environmental policy riders.

Sincerely,

Sheidon Whitehouse United States Senator

Carde

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Tom Udall United States Senator

Upall

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Du

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Tammyachutt

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Jack Reed United States Senator

Diano

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

anhuge

Maria Cantwell United States Senator

Gary C. Peters United States Senator

Shakeen

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Kamala D. Harris United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

A

This Smt

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Killin

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper

United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

M

Brian Schatz United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

Tina Smith United States Senator

Jacky Roser

United States Senator

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

Edward J. Markey

United States Senator

Ron Wyden United States Senator

Robert Menendez United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Warnes

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

1. 122

Tim Kaine United States Senator

6

Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

Muna att

Patty Murray O United States Senator