

May 12, 2022

The Honorable Chris Van Hollen Chairman Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Financial Services 110 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Cindy Hyde-Smith Ranking Member Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Financial Services 702 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Van Hollen and Ranking Member Hyde-Smith:

We respectfully request that you not include any riders prohibiting the Treasury Department or the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) from promulgating rules related to political spending in the Fiscal Year (FY) 2023 Financial Services and General Government (FSGG) appropriations bill.

Since *Citizens United*, a flood of dark money has entered our political system. 501(c)(4) organizations are often the beneficiaries of these funds, using them to engage in political activity.

Past appropriations bills have included several objectionable policy riders, including a rider preventing the IRS from revising or issuing new rules governing the political spending of 501(c) (4) organizations. These riders render the IRS unable to provide clear guidance to nonprofits on what types of activities are permissible. These riders are unnecessary because the rulemaking process itself provides ample opportunities for public debate and dissent to ensure that the rulemaking reflects the interests of the public.

To ensure that the FY 2023 FSGG bill enables agencies to effectively carry out their duties and serve the American people, we urge you to refrain from including policy riders that would impede the IRS's ability to proceed with necessary and appropriate rules governing political activity.

Sincerely,

Sheldon Whitehouse

United States Senator

Alex Padilla

United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren
United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar
United States Senator

Ron Wyden
United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan United States Senator Jon Tester

United States Senator

Raphael G. Warnock United States Senator

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Bernard Sanders
United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

John Hickenlooper United States Senator Mazie K. Hirono

United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto

United States Senator

Edward J. Markey United States Senator Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator