Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

September 26, 2023

The Honorable Antony J. Blinken Secretary of State U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street, NW Washington, DC 20520

The Honorable Janet Yellen Secretary of the Treasury U.S. Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20220

Re: Nagorno-Karabakh

Dear Secretaries Blinken and Yellen,

We urge the Departments of State and Treasury to immediately exercise discretionary authority to impose sanctions under the Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act (Global Magnitsky Act, Title XII, Subtitle F of P.L. 114-328; 22 U.S.C. §10101 et seq.) on individuals in the government of Azerbaijan associated with the military attacks against and brutal blockade of Nagorno-Karabakh. These actions represent a gross violation of human rights and the perpetration of violent conflict, which both pose a direct assault on American values and interests. The perpetrators of these human rights violations must be held to account by the United States.

Since December 12, 2022, Azerbaijan has blocked the Lachin Corridor, the only route connecting Armenia with Nagorno-Karabakh, depriving some 120,000 Armenians of freedom of movement and access to food, medication, hygiene products, and other commercial goods. The blockade's effects are particularly acute for at-risk groups, such as children, elderly people, people with disabilities and chronic health conditions, whose access to healthcare services is severely limited or disrupted. Local journalists have reported a rise in miscarriages and premature births due to pregnant women not having access to proper nutrition and prenatal care. Azerbaijan has also undermined the region's gas and electricity supply, impacting the functioning of medical and educational institutions and cutting heat as yet another winter approaches.

After over nine months of trying to starve out the ethnic Armenian population in Nagorno-Karabakh, the Azerbaijani military launched a full-scale assault on the region on September 19, resulting in a ceasefire and the capitulation of the local government on September 20. This attack has exacerbated concerns about the worsening of the humanitarian crisis, and statements from the government of Azerbaijan about "re-integration" raise the specter of ethnic cleansing and cultural genocide. Additionally, an explosion at a fuel station killed at least 125 civilians and

wounded nearly 300 as thousands of ethnic Armenians fled Nagorno-Karabakh in fear of violence from Azerbaijani forces. This horrific incident tragically underscores the urgent need for humanitarian aid and access.

America is a world leader on international human rights and must continue to serve as a mediating force and supporter of peace in the region. In order to hold Azerbaijan accountable for its actions in blockading and assaulting Nagorno-Karabakh, we respectfully request that your departments exercise existing authorities under the Global Magnitsky Act to impose targeted sanctions on the individuals in the Aliyev government that are responsible for or participated in the violation of human rights in Nagorno-Karabakh.

Sincerely,

Sheldon Whitehouse

United States Senator

Seth Magaziner
Member of Congress

Bill Cassidy, M.D.

United States Senator

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Iack Reed

United States Senator

Frank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress

Marco Rubio

U.S. Senator

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

Shured Brown

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Dica Dwhen
Richard J. Durbin

United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

Tim Kaine
United States Senator

John Fetterman United States Senator Marine Waters

Maxine Waters
Member of Congress

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Charles J. "Chuck" Fleischmann

Edward J. Markey
United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren

United States Senator

Alex Padilla
United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress Tammy Baldwin
United States Senator

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Jain

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr.
United States Senator

Jacky Rosen

United States Senator

Ron Wyden

United States Senator

Grace Meng

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress Gary Ceters

United States Senator

United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein

United States Senator

United States Senator

Josh Gottheimer
Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Peter Welch

United States Senator

Adam B. Schiff

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

y Gomez Dwight Evans

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo

Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

Yake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

10.Cll

Adriano Espaillat
Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell
Member of Congress

Swedenell

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Bolie Water Colema

Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Tony Cardencs

Susie Lee

Member of Congress

ousir lee

Signat Rochaster

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Andy Kim

Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress Shri Thanedar

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Susan Wild

Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Julia Brownley

Member of Congress

Donald Norcross

Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee

Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz

Member of Congress

nathan L. Jackson

Member of Congress

Cori Bush