January 25, 2021

Reed & Whitehouse Call for Congressional Gold Medal to Be Awarded to Officer Eugene Goodman for Heroism on Jan. 6

Washington, DC – U.S. Senators Jack Reed (D-R.I.) and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.) have introduced bipartisan legislation to award Capitol Police Officer Eugene Goodman the Congressional Gold Medal to honor his heroic actions on January 6, 2021. Goodman confronted rioters in the Capitol, delaying their access to the Senate chamber and protecting the lives of those inside.

“Officer Goodman is a hero whose courage and quick thinking saved lives. He has our sincere thanks and is deserving of this high honor,” said Senator Reed.

“Officer Goodman’s quick thinking and brave actions very likely saved lives during the insurrection at the Capitol,” said Senator Whitehouse. “On behalf of a grateful nation, it is an honor to recommend Officer Goodman for a Congressional Gold Medal.”

This legislation is also sponsored by Senators Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.V.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), and Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.). Companion legislation has been introduced in the House by Representatives.

The text of the bill can be found here.

Press Contact

Meaghan McCabe, (202) 224-2921