June 8, 2007

U.S. Senate Congratulates Brown University’s Women’s Crew Team

WASHINGTON, DC — The United States Senate last night unanimously passed a resolution offered by U.S. Senators Jack Reed (D-RI) and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) recognizing the Brown University women’s crew team on winning the 2007 NCAA Division I Women’s Rowing Championship.

On May 27, 2007, Brown took home top honors at the NCAA Championship with 58 points, defeating a field that included the University of Virginia (second place – 54 points) and Ohio State University (third place – 52 points). 

This is the fifth NCAA title in nine years that the Brown University women’s crew team has won, making it the winningest women’s crew team in NCAA history.  During that span, the Brown women have also finished 2nd twice and 3rd twice. 

“I am pleased the U.S. Senate passed this resolution honoring the Brown University women’s crew team.  These young women, and those who helped build the program over the years, deserve to be recognized for their achievements,” said Senator Reed.  “I salute coach John Murphy and all the outstanding student-athletes on Brown’s crew team for bringing home another NCAA championship to Rhode Island.”

“Congratulations to Brown University and the members of the Women’s Crew Team on their fifth NCAA national championship,” Senator Whitehouse said.  “I’m proud that the Senate has offered its congratulations for these young women and their coaches’ stellar accomplishments.”

In addition to celebrating the achievements of the rowers, the resolution also recognizes their coaches and the students and alumni who helped guide the team to victory.

– end –

Press Contact

Meaghan McCabe, (202) 224-2921