May 13, 2024

Whitehouse, Barrasso Lead Bipartisan Resolution Marking National Hospital Week

Washington, DC – U.S. Senators Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and John Barrasso (R-WY) today announced that the Senate has designated May 12 through 18, 2024 as National Hospital Week.  The resolution recognizes the significant role that hospitals and hospital employees play in the delivery of health care in the United States.

“This week we’re celebrating the many contributions hospital workers make in the delivery of high-quality care for Rhode Islanders,” said Whitehouse.  “The doctors, nurses, and staff who work in our local hospitals provide heroic care during some of the most challenging moments patients and their families will ever go through.”

“During National Hospital Week, we recognize and celebrate the hard work of our nation’s hospital workers,” said Barrasso. “Doctors, nurses, and hospital staff across the country provide critical care and comfort to patients when they need it most. In Wyoming, we are grateful for our health care providers and support staff for their dedication to caring for patients in all our communities.”

Last year, hospitals employed nearly 5.5 million individuals, including nurses, physicians, allied health professions, sanitation and food service workers, and many others.  About 5.5 percent of Rhode Island workers are employed in a hospital setting.

“During National Hospital Week, we extend our profound gratitude to the dedicated healthcare professionals who tirelessly heal and protect our family, friends, and community,” said Teresa Paiva Weed, President of the Hospital Association of Rhode Island.  “Hospitals provide more than just medical care and services to patients; they’re centers of resources, education, and innovation.  In times of celebration and crisis, hospitals represent hope and healing, providing essential care and support to all who need it.  We thank Senator Whitehouse for recognizing the invaluable contributions of hospitals nationwide.”

The resolution is cosponsored by Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV).

The full text of the resolution is available here.


Press Contact

Meaghan McCabe, (202) 224-2921