December 9, 2009

Whitehouse to Chair Cyber Security Task Force

Washington, D.C. – The U.S. Senate Select Committee on Intelligence has established a Cyber Security Task Force to evaluate cyber threats to the United States and issue recommendations to the U.S. intelligence community, as appropriate. The bipartisan task force will be chaired by U.S. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), and will also include Senators Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) and Olympia Snowe (R-ME).

“I’m honored to have been chosen by Chairman Feinstein to lead this task force,” said Whitehouse. “As our world becomes increasingly interconnected by advanced networks of communication, the United States must recognize cyber security as fundamental to our national security. I look forward to working with Senators Mikulski and Snowe to make our nation better ready to defend against this new frontier of potential attacks.”

The task force will officially convene in January 2010 and will complete its work by June 2010.


Press Contact

Meaghan McCabe, (202) 224-2921